Thai Chicken Quinoa Bowl

IMG_1346

I remember the first time I tried quinoa. It was around 7 or 8 years ago and we spotted it at the bulk barn, and after reading about its super powers, decided to try it out. Let’s just say that the end results were less than amazing. This was probably due to a complete lack of knowledge of how to prepare it, or what to eat it with. Fast forward a few years, I gained a little Peruvian influence and quinoa made another appearance in my diet. Only this time, I loved it! Once you realize all the health benefits it has, and how easy it is to prepare, you’ll love it too!

As soon as I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it. I literally went straight to the grocery store to get the ingredients because I knew I had to have it as soon as possible! It is a unique way to incorporate quinoa into a dish, and reminded me of a fried rice dish that I used to looooove from a food court Thai place. This recipe has so many flavour levels. The quinoa develops an intense flavour from the coconut milk, but combined with all of the other flavours, it isn’t too overpowering. This is officially my new favourite way to eat quinoa, and one of my new favourite dishes and I’m already thinking of when I can make it again!

Thai Chicken Quinoa Bowl

Barely Adapted From Iowa Girl Eats

  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast  IMG_1349
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup coconut milk (light)
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 3 green onions, chopped
  • 1 tbsp ginger (minced or grated)
  • 2 tsp garlic
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 1/2 cups pineapple tidbits, drained
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • juice of half a lime
  • chopped peanuts, lime wedges for serving

Cut chicken breast into cubes or strips, and season with salt and pepper. Saute in a lightly oiled pan about 6-8 minutes until cooked through. Set aside.

Combine quinoa, chicken broth and coconut milk in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn to low-medium and cover. Cook until liquid has been absorbed about 15-20 mins.

In a lightly oiled wok, combine green onions, garlic, and ginger and cook over medium-high heat for one minute. Stir constantly or garlic will burn.

Add peas, pineapple and cilantro to wok and cook for 1 minute.

Create a space in the centre of the wok by pushing the ingredients to the sides. Pour in the 2 eggs (you can whisk them together in a small bowl before adding to the wok to make this easier). Stir the eggs until they are scrambled and cooked, and then combine with other ingredients.

Add cooked quinoa, chicken, soy sauce and lime juice to wok and combine with other ingredients. Cook for a couple more minutes.

Serve with chopped peanuts on top and additional lime wedges on the side.

3 Comments

Filed under Main Dishes

3 responses to “Thai Chicken Quinoa Bowl

  1. Kim

    made the veggie version for dinner with tofu and veggie broth… delicious!

  2. Yay! I’m glad you liked it, and thanks for commenting! 🙂

    • Kim

      oo i just saw this! I probably just have made it with chicken after all since Steve ended up eating it all 😛 But I was pretty proud of myself for successfully making such a fancy meal!

      Keep up the good work!

Comment