Chewy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_1406

I’ve gone on in the past about oatmeal raisin cookies, and how my non-dessert loving boyfriend requested them every week for about a month. So I was a little surprised when he requested oatmeal chocolate chip cookies for a change.

I saw this recipe on How Sweet Eats and I am so glad that I tried it!! The texture of this cookie was perfectly chewy and soft. There is a hint of cinnamon in the dough, which I think brings the whole cookie together. If your mom ever made those Quaker oatmeal chocolate chip muffins when you were a kid, this is them IMG_1412in cookie form! I am not a fan of pre-made baking mixes, but those muffins are soooo good. I should try to replicate them from scratch one day… hmmmm.

These cookies did not last long in our house, I really had to restrain myself from eating 5 in one sitting because they really are THAT good. These have less oatmeal, and more flour than my oatmeal raisin cookies, so upon first glance, the oatmeal may not be overly noticeable, but once you take a bite, the distinguishable texture is there.

Of all people, I definitely know how tempting it is to go back to your trusty favourite standby cookie recipe when you get the baking urge, but try these ones out next time, you won’t be disappointed! I will definitely be adding these into my favourite cookie rotation. Don’t tell me you don’t have a cookie rotation….whaaaaat?!

Chewy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recipe from How  Sweet Eats

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room  temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar IMG_1404
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1-2 tbsp milk (if needed to make dough come together)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine butter and sugars and beat with a mixer until smooth. Add egg and vanilla, mixing well until combined. In a separate bowl, combine flour, salt, baking powder and cinnamon. Stir dry ingredients into wet by hand. Stir in oats and mix until dough comes together. If dough is very crumbly, add in 1 tbsp of milk until it comes together. You can keep adding milk by the tbsp until the dough comes together, I didn’t have to add any milk to mine, so you should be fine. Fold in chocolate chips.

Roll dough into 1 1/2 inch balls and flatten slightly on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Bake for 9-11 minutes. Mine were perfectly done in 9 mins. Let cool on baking sheet for a minute, then move to a cooling rack.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Comment