Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Cookies

IMG_1606

Ok..so it’s no shocker that I adore peanut butter. I eat it pretty much every day in some form or another..I can’t get enough of it!

So you can imagine my despair when our peanut butter stocks were depleted for almost one whole week…my body was in denial..severe peanutty deprivation had set in.

I finally picked up a jar of pb on the weekend and the only cure I could imagine for my peanut butter denial was…..peanut butter cookies! It’s shocking, (especially to me!) but I don’t make peanut buttery desserts very often. Don’t get me wrong, I drool over peanut butter filled treats on Pinterest every day, but actually cranking one out in the kitchen doesn’t happen often. As I have mentioned before, I live with someone who could leave a plate of cookies or brownies and a jar of peanut butter untouched for a week. This is unfathomable to me…I would probably slather the peanut butter ON the cookies AND brownies and eat them all in one day. I may have a sickness.

I knew that I wouldn’t be getting much help eating these cookies around here. Sure I could share them with friends or coworkers, but really..let’s be honest…I don’t want to share my peanut butter cookies. At least not in my state of peanIMG_1618ut butter deprivation. To ensure that I didn’t spend two days binging on dozens of cookies, I made a small batch (only 1 tray -12 cookies) and health-ified them slightly by using whole wheat flour and natural peanut butter.

I am hesitant to say this, but they may just be the best peanut butter cookies EVERRR. They are very rich and peanutty, which is exactly what I want in a peanut butter cookie. I am not interested in cookies with a slight hint of peanut taste, if it’s a peanut butter cookie, it better taste like one! These are taken up a notch with the addition of salted peanuts AND peanut butter chips. You could leave them out, but I personally like the extra dimensions and textures that they add. Next time I might try this recipe with all whole wheat flour as it was honestly undetectable in this recipe.

I can’t think of much better than a peanut butter cookie dipped in a glass of cold milk….mmmm. I can’t believe I went so long without doing any peanut butter baking! What was I thinking?!

Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Cookies

Adapted from Cookie Madness

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flourIMG_1598
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup +2 tbsp white sugar
  • 1/8 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup + 1/8 cup peanut butter (natural will give you a richer peanut flavour)
  • 1/2 egg (I know this is wasteful….but you can always double the recipe to make a full batch! To get half an egg just beat the egg slightly and only use half!)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup salted peanuts, chopped
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In a small bowl, combine flours, baking soda and salt. Stir to combine.

In a large bowl, cream butter with sugars and beat on medium for about 1 minute until creamy. Add peanut butter, egg and vanilla and beat until combined, about 30 seconds.

Stir in flour mixture by hand until just combined. Stir in peanuts and peanut butter chips.

Form dough into 1 1/2 inch balls and flatten slightly with a fork.

Bake until golden, 12-15 minutes.

Makes 1 dozen cookies

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Comment

