Skinny Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

IMG_1452

Hello friends! I am finally starting to wake up from my Easter food coma. After all the deliciousness of the main meal, followed by the discounted Easter candy that I consumed this week, I am ready to get back on track. I see this recipe as sort of like a bridge between the indulgent and the healthy. 

I am always intrigued by recipes which claim to be ‘healthy’ versions of alfredo sauce because I’ve tried quite a few in the past with very limited success. This one uses greek yogourt which I think is a great idea, and we all know greek yogourt is all the rage these days.  The dish is actually really quick to put together, and the end result is pretty impressive. Though It definitely cannot replace a full on alfredo sauce, it is a pretty good substitute for a once and a while treat. If anything, I suggest purchasing a good quality cheese for this recipe, it will make a huge difference in the final product. The original recipe called for parmesan, but I used pecorino romano only because it was what I had on hand. I only ask that you don’t use the powdery kind of parmesan, as it is probably not even 100% cheese, and will compromise the creaminess of the sauce! The nutmeg is optional, but it just adds a little something something to the sauce. Any creamy sauce will perk up with a pinch of nutmeg!

I found this recipe on what may be my new favourite blog, Iowa Girl Eats. Every recipe I see there looks delicious and speaks exactly to the kind of foods that I like. She is also interested in focusing on fun healthy recipes, which is right up my alley as well! Go check the blog out, I guarantee you will find many delicious things and great ideas.

Skinny Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

Barely adapted from Iowa Girl Eats

  • 2 chicken breasts, seasoned to your taste with salt, pepper, garlic powder
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 8 oz pasta of your choice ( I used gemelli -  use about half IMG_1450of a 500g box)
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp garlic, minced (2 cloves)
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1 cup chicken broth, low sodium
  • 1/4 cup milk (I used skim)
  • 1/4 cup plain greek yogourt
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • pinch of nutmeg (optional)
  • 3/4 cup pecorino romano cheese, grated

Cut chicken breasts into cubes, and cook in a pan over medium high heat, remove from pan and set aside.

Cook pasta in boiling salted water. Add broccoli to pasta water during last 3 minutes. Drain pasta and broccoli and set aside.

Heat EVOO in a skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and cook for about 1 minute stirring constantly. The garlic will burn, so adjust the heat and stir stir stir!

Sprinkle flour into skillet with garlic and whisk to incorporate for 1 minute.

Slowly whisk in chicken broth and milk. Whisk in greek yogourt, and salt, pepper and nutmeg to taste. Turn the heat down to low and let simmer for a few minutes to thicken.

Turn off the heat and stir in cheese and chicken until combined. Mix with pasta and broccoli and stir to coat.

Serve with additional cheese on top if desired. Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Main Dishes

4 responses to “Skinny Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

  1. Kim

    i’m gonna try this!! i LOVE alfredo sauce and i agree that healthy ones don’t usually compare to the real thing, but the greek yogurt sounds good!

  2. Yay! Hope you like it!

  3. Kim

    yum it turned out really well 🙂 this was another easy one to do a vegetarian variation, just replaced the chicken with tofu and chicken broth with veggie broth. i also made a point to buy the “real” parmesan and it made a huge difference. i’m guilty of usually using the other stuff!

  4. You can be my official vegetarian correspondent! Hehe….I do like the powdery Parmesan for some things, but since it is a big part of this dish, the other one is better….and once you buy it, it’s always nice to have it in the fridge 🙂 so glad you liked it!

Comment

