Lemon Spaghetti with Chicken and Broccoli

IMG_0834

Another dinner recipe? I know, things are getting a little crazy over here, and everyone is experiencing sugar withdrawal, but I promise this recipe is a good one! My mom started making this probably the year before I moved away from home. I made it a few times while I was on my own, but then kind of forgot about it until a few months ago. I can’t tell you how happy I am that I have rediscovered it.

It is so easy to whip up on a weeknight, and it is so so sooo delicious. Every time I eat it, I can’t believe how simple it is, yet how good it tastes! I think you should probably make it tonight!

I usually never make it with feta, but it just so happened IMG_0815that this time we had some kicking around in the fridge. It tastes amazing with or without it, so don’t worry if you don’t have it. The parmesan is essential though!

I have gone through like 12 lemons this week, and I have to say that I LIKED it. My other lemony creations were full of sugar and butter and lots of other gross stuff like that…..who am I kidding, we all know sugar and butter make everything better! I can’t wait to share those recipes with you very soon!

Anyways, here is the recipe, one of my all time favourites, and one that you should definitely try!

Lemon Spaghetti with Chicken and Broccoli

Serves 2-3

  • 1 large or 2 small chicken breasts (you can really do as much or as little chicken as you like)IMG_0817
  • 1 tsp. garlic, chopped
  • 1 head of broccoli, chopped
  • 1 yellow or green pepper, sliced
  • 1/2 lb.  spaghetti or any other long pasta (about half of a box)
  • Juice of 1 lemon (could be more or less depending on your tastes)
  • Parmesan cheese/feta, to your liking

Slice chicken into strips or chunks, and season liberally with salt and pepper.

Add 1-2 tbsp. of oil to a skillet, and heat over medium-high. Once pan is hot, add chicken and garlic, and stir. Turn heat down to medium, and cook until chicken is cooked through (5-6mins). IMG_0828

Meanwhile, add spaghetti to a pot of boiling salted water. Add broccoli and peppers to boiling pasta water with pasta during last few minutes of cook time.

Drain pasta and vegetables, and add cooked chicken to pot.

Mix in juice from one lemon, and parmesan cheese/feta to your liking. (Start with a little, and add until it tastes good to you, we like a lot of lemon and cheese, but everyone’s tastes will be different.)

IMG_0832

2 Comments

Filed under Main Dishes

2 responses to “Lemon Spaghetti with Chicken and Broccoli

  1. Kim

    do you think it would be ok without the chicken? i.e. to make it vegetarian for stephen?

Comment

