Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

I don’t know why, but raisin is one of those words that I just can’t spell. I always want to type ‘raisen’ but then I know that can’t be right…so it must be ‘raisin’! Am I crazy?!? And why I am even typing that word so often anyways?

I made these cookies this past Sunday afternoon. Baking on a lazy Sunday afternoon is the perfect way to prepare for the week ahead, and round out the weekend. I can remember when I was younger and I would  do everything I could to convince my mom to make homemade cookies. To me, they were the best thing I had ever tasted in the world. It’s funny because my mom usually always made the recipe on the back of the chocolate chips package, which I too have made a million times, but they just never taste as good as when my mom made them. Mom’s have special powers like that.
I had planned to make chocolate chip cookies because I have what seems to be a neverending list of recipes to try, each one only slightly different than the last, but always hoping to find the *perfect* one. However, once I proposed my idea, I was persuaded into making an oatmeal cookie. I don’t get many baking requests in this household, so I will take whatever I can get!!

I decided to try a new recipe and I was not dissapointed. I did half oatmeal raisin, half oatmeal chocolate chip. Both were delicious, but the raisin ones were a step above. Even the skeptic who hates raisins agreed that they were amazing. I know there are a lot of raisin haters out there, but trust me, in these cookies, they are so much better than chocolate chips!! I didn’t add any nuts only because I didn’t have any, but walnuts would be a good addition as well. These cookies have the slightest hint of cinnamon, which is not too overpowering. You can always add more cinnamon if you like, or experiment with other spices such as nutmeg or cloves.

Mine were done baking in 8 minutes, the edges were already pretty brown, so keep your eye on them! Every oven works a little differently, but definitely start checking around 8 minutes.

EDIT: I had originally written up this post on Sunday, and I will let you know that these cookies were gone by Tuesday, and ANOTHER BATCH was made. It was ridiculous. There are only two of us living in this apartment, and I will tell you that it was not me who thought to make a second batch. They really are THAT good. I used all raisins in the second batch because we found ourselves looking for the ones with raisins in the first batch..just do it!!

The recipe makes about 18 cookies with my 1 1/2 tbsp cookie scoop.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup raisins or chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350degrees

Cream butter, sugar, egg and vanilla together with hand mixer on medium speed, until smooth and fluffy.

In a separate bowl, whisk  together flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

Add flour mixture to butter and sugar mixture and stir just until combined.

Add oats, and raisins or chocolate chips to mixture and mix until incorporated.

Scoop or roll into balls and place on parchment paper lined baking sheet. Keep unused dough in fridge while cookies are baking.

Bake for 8 to 10 mins until edges start to turn golden brown.

Cool on baking sheet for 3-5 minutes, and then transfer to a cooling rack.

1 Comment

Filed under Cookies

One response to “Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Scones « sugar coated

Comment

