Oreo Truffles

I’m baaaaaaaack!! Ok so I know that in every post I tell you that I am going to post more often, and then a month goes by with nothing…but this time, I really mean it!! I made a bunch of stuff for a special somebody’s birthday a few weeks ago and while I don’t have lots of pictures (it was a crazy weekend..i’m just happy that everything was prepared on time!) the recipes are pretty good and I want to share them! But for now, I will leave you with a simple but very impressive recipe. People will be shocked that you made these and even more shocked when you tell them how simple they are.

I brought these to a potluck at work and they were demolished very quickly. Somebody even asked me where I had bought them so they could go pick some up for themselves! They are really decadent, and foolproof! I have also developed an affinity for rainbow sprinkles. They make everything look so fun and I will probably be putting them on everything from now on. I am probably going to make some of those rainbow sprinkles cupcakes that you ate when you were a kid soon too.

Oreo Truffles

  • 1 (16.6 oz) bag of Oreo Cookies (the original recipe calls for a bit more than one standard sized bag, so I used one regular bag and one additional row of cookies from another bag..if that makes sense! Maybe American bags of oreos are bigger than Canadian ones? I don’t know)
  • 1 (8oz ) block of cream cheese (softened)
  • Chocolate for dipping
Crush the Oreos in a food processor until you have fine crumbs. You don’t really want any chunks of cookies here.
Add in the cream cheese and mix with the food processer or by hand until a dough forms.
Form the dough into small balls. (You can chill the dough before forming the balls if you find it too messy to work with) and place the balls on a wax paper lined baking sheet.
Freeze the dough balls for 30mins to 1 hr
Dip the balls into chocolate, peanut butter, white chocolate…really whatever you like!
Chill until ready to be served!!
I will leave you with a picture of the baby birds that hatched on our balcony and have yet to leave despite our constant pressure…some kids just never wanna leave!! This picture was taken about 3 weeks ago and the birdies almost look like full grown birds now. Their momma bird comes every day to try to get them out of their nest, but they will only stand around and flap their wings. I am looking forward to enjoying my balcony this summer so I am encouraging the birds to fly away as soon as possible! hehehe
Leave a comment

Filed under Candies/Truffles

Comment

