My Favourite Granola

Ola!

 Today I thought it was time for a more health conscious recipe. It sounds like it won’t be very much fun, I know…but trust me, this one is really really good! While storebought granola is very delicious, it is full of added sugars and ingredients that nobody has ever heard of. I found this recipe on the Cooking Light website and I thought it looked pretty good. I have a subscription to Cooking Light and every single recipe I’ve made from them has been amazing. Honestly, a lot of ‘healthy’ recipes are not that great, and just taking out all the high fat, sugar ingredients leaves you with nothing, and the results definitely show this. However, a lot of the recipes from Cooking Light are really good, and they do manage to make them more healthy them as much as possible.
Back to granola, I’ve made this recipe a few times and each time I find another way to make it better. This recipe is great because you can customize it as much or as little as you like. I usually use whatever nuts or dried fruit I have on hand, and you can also add coconut or chocolate chips at the end if you like!

We like to eat this over yogourt, mixed in with cereal or just for a snack on its own! It doesn’t last very long around here, so I should probably start making double batches!

I’ve adapted the recipe from the Cooking Light original by reducing the brown sugar to 1/8 cup and increasing the baking temperature. I found that baking it at 300 degrees as the recipe suggests left it a little too soft. Keep a close eye on it when its baking because it can turn very dark brown very quickly…I learned this the hard way, although the granola is still good, just a little toasty :). The baking times are really up to you and up to your preference on how crunchy you want it to be in the end.

Granola
adapted from Cooking Light
Preheat oven to 315 degrees
  • 2 cups rolled oats (I recommend using the large flake, but quick oats will work too)
  • 1/3 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1/3cup honey
  • 1/8 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup dried fruit
Combine first four ingredients in a medium sized bowl
Combine orange juice, honey and brown sugar in a small saucepan and heat over medium heat on the stove, stirring frequently until sugar is dissolved
Remove honey mixture from heat and stir in canola oil and vanilla
Pour honey mixture over dry ingredients and mix to coat
Spread on a baking sheet in a thin layer
Bake for 10-15 mins, stir well to flip granola
Bake for 10-15 additional minutes
Stir in dried fruit if desired
Store in an airtight container

Leave a comment

Filed under Healthy Treats

Comment

