Triple Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Hello!
It has been a long time since I’ve posted anything here, which is not good! We have been so busy the past few weeks, time has just flown by. Things have calmed down and we have finalized everything for our new house (!!!!!!), so I should get my life back to normal now! Anyways, I made these cookies a few weeks ago and I was very very impressed.
 I made a trip to the Lindt outlet store here in Ottawa, and was able to find Ghiardelli Cocoa Powder which is something I have looked for and been 100% unsuccessful in finding in Canada! They also had Ghirardelli Chocolate Chips, but I didnt splurge for those…yet! Sometimes I get frustrated at the lack of quality baking products available in Canada, and specifically in Ottawa. So when I found this, I was beyond ecstatic, and immediately started searching my recipes for something to make with it!
I thought the idea of a double chocolate chip cookie with oatmeal sounded good, and I threw in some white chocolate chips which I still had hanging around from some Christmas baking. The results were sooo delicious…I want to say that the good quality cocoa powder made a difference, but  I have never made these cookies with any other cocoa powder, so I can’t be sure. But I like to reassure myself that this purchase was well worth the investment!
These cookies almost tasted like little brownies, they were very chocolatey, but so good, and I couldnt stop eating them (which is pretty much the norm with any cookies, but I’m serious, these ones were really good!!!).
I tend to have a hard time straying from the traditional chocolate chip cookie because I know it is reliable, and it is always delicious, but I am glad I tried these ones out and they are even healthy because they have oatmeal….right?! Anything with oatmeal qualifies as breakfast in my books……haha.
Let me also tell you about how much I looooooooove my cookie scoop. I sent my Mom on a wild goose chase for this cookie scoop at Christmas and of course she found it for me! It’s the OXO Medium sized cookie scoop, and honestly, I don’t know how I made cookies without it before. Each cookie is the same size, and comes out shaped relatively well. It also makes the cookie scooping process so quick and easy! Less time spent scooping cookies onto tray = more time spent eating cookies! The OXO scoop runs around $20, and there are definitely some cheaper options out there, but I would highly recommend this one.
Everytime I sit down to write a post here, I tell myself I will keep it short and get to the point, but somehow I always end up blabbing for a few extra paragraphs….I guess there was a reason I could write a 12 page essay in a few hours (I do not recommend this! hehe). So without further ado, here is the recipe:
Triple Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies
Adapted from All Recipes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup chocolate chips ( I used half white half semi-sweet
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  1. Beat butter and sugars until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt; mix well. Stir in oats and chocolate chipes, mix well.
  2. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 10 to 12 minutes, until cookies are almost set. Cool 1 minute on cookies sheets, then move to wire racks. .
Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Comment

