Chicken Soup For the Soul….and the Runny Nose

So I have been feeling a little under the weather this weekend…and there is nothing better to soothe my throbbing head than a hot bowl of chicken noodle soup! I had actually planned to make this before I was sick, but now it’s even better. Most of the recipes that I share will probably be sweet baked treats, but I do have to eat something other than sugar and chocolate once in a while, mostly only to make my dentist happy!
Whenever the President’s Choice Air Chilled Chickens are on sale, I pick up a few because they are REALLY good, and can be roasted or used for so many delicious things like soup!
My slowcooker is like the best friend I always forget about, I don’t use it as much as I should, but when I do, I fall in love all over again.
It is so easy and it seems like anything you put in there turns into pure gold.

Basically, I threw everything into the pot, put the whole chicken on top, and let the slooooow cooking begin. And it is slow, I kid you not. After a few hours, the smells coming out of the kitchen become almost torturous. 

Despite this, I would recommend cooking it on low for 8-10 hours, because the flavours will be more intense, but if you are in a hurry and don’t feel like eating dinner at midnight, you can crank it to high for 4-6 hours.
I like my soups chunky, so the vegetables are roughly chopped into big chunks (thanks to my special helper for prepping the veggies so as not to infect the soup with my icky germs <3)
Once the chicken was fully cooked, I removed it from the pot, and shred the meat, discarding the bones. At this time I added some mini potatoes, and let it cook for maybe 30-40mins longer.
We made this one into a chicken and rice soup, and I would recommend precooking the rice and adding a scoop to each bowl at serving time. Otherwise, I found that it gets lost in the soup, or gets too soft. You could easily substitue the rice for egg noodles, or any kind of pasta but I would recommend adding them when the soup is done, and the slow cooker has been turned off. They should soften up in about 20 minutes, but keep your eye on them.
Slow Cooker Chicken Noodle Soup
  • 4 cups water and 4 cups canned or boxed chicken broth (could substitute 8 cups of chicken broth)
  • 1 cup carrot,chopped
  • 1 cup celery,chopped
  • 1 cup onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2tsp dried thyme
  • salt to taste
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • garlic salt
  • 1 3 1/2lb roasting chicken
  • 15 mini potatoes (optional)
  • Egg Noodles / Rice (optional)
Season chicken with freshly ground pepper, and garlic salt. Combine all other ingredients in 4 1/2 – 6 quart slow cooker. Place whole chicken on top of liquid and vegetables. Cover and cook for 8-10 hours on low or 4-6 hours on high. Turn slow cooker to low. Remove chicken to a cutting board, remove skin, fat and bones, and shred chicken. Add potatoes and noodles if desired. Return chicken to slow cooker and cook on low for 20-30 mins more until potatoes are tender.

 

  
Leave a comment

Filed under Main Dishes

Comment

