Banana Bread

Hello!
So this blog is a long time in the making, and it has finally come off the ground! I want to use it to share recipes and tips, and also for myself as a way to keep track of what I’ve made, the good and the bad. I have way too many recipes saved and bookmarked for my own good, so hopefully this will give me the outlet to make them! I hope to showcase more of my own recipes and adaptations in the near future as well. My pictures are not the best because my camera is….not the best…but try to pretend!

So…without further ado, my first recipe to share with you, is a classic banana bread. I find that my search for the perfect banana bread is a lot like my search for the perfect chocolate chip cookie… neverending! I’m always left wondering if there’s something just a little bit better out there.

Recently,I thought that I had found my all time banana bread, in Banana Banana Bread. Yes, I know it is ridiculous that it takes SEVEN bananas, but that baby is GOOD. Even though I am still figuring out the temperature and time to bake it fully without burning the outside, it is too delicious to care.

Despite this, I am always intrigued at a new recipe,and a few weeks ago my mom recommended a banana bread recipe. This is a lot coming from the woman who has had one and only one way of making banana bread for as long as I can remember. She raved about this new recipe for days (ok maybe only minutes, but still). So I thought I’d give it a try, it only uses three measly bananas, but I wont judge…

This recipe uses melted butter, while Banana Banana Bread uses the creaming method…other than that it is a pretty typical quick bread recipe. Dry ingredients in one bowl. Wet ingredients in another bowl. Combine together until just mixed. This is important, do not overmix!! The bread will become dry and dense, and nobody wants that!

The bread was done after  55 minutes. I let it cool for about 10 minutes in the pan, before removing it to the wire rack

I am not very patient when it comes to letting things cool from the oven, so I cut into this pretty quickly! The loaf didn’t rise as much as I’m used to, but that could have to do with the quality of my baking powder and not the recipe. I will say that it was very good banana bread, and it is definitely a good standby recipe. My boyfriend (who is not a big sweet eater) said that this was the best banana bread I’ve made.

HOWEVER, I feel that it is lacking a bit of the amazingness that I experienced the first time I tried the Banana Banana Bread recipe. I will keep this one around for those times when I don’t have seven bananas lying around, or when I want something with little fuss.

The recipe for this bread can be found here!

2 Comments

Filed under Quick Bread

2 responses to “Banana Bread

  1. question: how do you suggest freezing bananas for baking? i bought a bunch of extras this time cuz we always eat them so fast and i want to save some to try some of these recipes 🙂

  2. Wow I am really bad at replying to comments because it doesnt tell me that anybody commented and I just assume that nobody does, so I was very excited to see this! So pretend this answer is not a month later…but YES I always freeze bananas for baking, usually I will just throw the whole thing in the freezer with the peel and everything once it is really ripe. When I want to use them, I will take them out a few hours before and let them sit on the counter to defrost, so I can take them out of the peel. It's not good to try to make banana bread with cold/frozen bananas. I know that some people take the peels off before they freeze them, and then just put them into ziploc bags, this makes sense and would probably prevent frozen bananas from dropping on my feet everytime I open the freezer!

Comment

