Oat-nana-tella Muffins

I am the worst blogger of all time. Between planning for our new house, and juggling working overtime and the gym, I have not had a lot of time for baking lately, or even cooking.I saw this recipe TODAY and knew immediately that I had to try it. I always have bananas in the freezer, and I bought a jar of nutella a long time ago for some kind of baking project, and also just to reminisce about that week so long ago that I spend in Paris. They eat a lot of nutella in Europe, at least in Paris. Nutella crepes are delicious. I’m still working on my master plan to bring crepe stands to Canada!
Anyways, back to the muffins..I have dubbed them Oat-nana-tella Muffins…Oatmeal, Banana, Nutella! They are pretty healthy, at least as healthy as muffins can be. Haven’t you seen that nutella commercial? Nutella is good for you! How do they jam billions of hazelnuts into one jar? I’m not sure, but the commercial says they do so it must be true!

 

The original recipe says you can use oat bran or quick cooking oatmeal. I don’t have oat bran, so oatmeal it is. I like the texture that oatmeal brings to the cupcake. When I was little my mom always used to make those oatmeal chocolate chip muffins that you make from a little bag of muffin mix at the grocery store. Those were the best!! The texture of these remind me of those.

For any muffin recipe the procedure is pretty much the same, mix the dry ingredients, mix the wet ingredients, and then combine. Once they are combined, be really careful to only mix it as little as needed. As soon as there are no streaks of flour, you’re done. There is no need for a hand mixer with muffins, get out the wooden spoon and work those muscles! I had to bake them for 15 mins for them to be fully cooked, but your oven may be different so keep your eye on them!
I also used half whole wheat flour (only because I ran out, I would have used all whole wheat if I had it). Honestly, you won’t even know it’s whole wheat. I do a lot of my baking with whole wheat flour. If you’ve ever had cookies made by me, chances are they were made with whole wheat flour. Its almost undetectible in lots of things. I definitely admit that it can’t be used for everything, but try using half whole wheat, half all purpose to start, and see how you like it. I also just realized that I completely forget to add the vanilla when I made these, but they are still pretty good.
In the end, they were pretty good…I wish the nutella flavour came out a little bit more, but it could have been because I ate one when it was piping hot, and flavours always develop more once it cools…I couldn’t help it!
Oat-nana-tella Muffins
Adapted from Baking Bites
Makes 8 muffins
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup quick-cooking oatmeal
1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp canola oil
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup mashed banana (about 1 med.)
3 tbsp Nutella
1/2 cup buttermilk
Preheat oven to 375F. Line 8 muffin cups with paper liners.
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, oatmeal, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
In a small bowl, whisk together canola oil, brown sugar, egg, vanilla, mashed banana, Nutella and buttermilk until very smooth.
 Pour into dry mixture and stir just until combined. Divide batter evenly into prepared muffin tin.
Bake for 13-15 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
Remove muffins from tin and cool on a wire rack before serving. Store in an airtight container when cool
2 Comments

Filed under Muffins

2 responses to “Oat-nana-tella Muffins

  1. Bailey!!!! YOU ARE AMAZING!! I am going to try this recipe today…but I am going to modify it a little bit for me. Instead of the whole wheat flour I am going to try the oat flour (this flour does not have gluten!!)
    Thank you for sharing the recipes!!! :)

  2. Bailey little question, how do you keep your brown sugar from going hard?? Thanks!

Comment

